DOL Law: The Statutes That Regulate The American Working Force

The Department of Labor consists of a number of boards and administrations that are governed by the DOL law. The DOL law refers to the over 180 federal laws that the Department of Labor enforces. The regulations cover approximately 10 million employers and 125 million employees.

Since there are so many laws that the DOL upholds, this will only be a quick overview of a couple major DOL laws. A knowledgeable lawyer who specializes in employment law will be able to answer your in-depth questions about each of the laws.

DOL Law: Four Major Laws

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

The Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor regulates FLSA, ensuring that employees are paid fairly for hourly and overtime wages. Furthermore, FLSA protects the rights of children, providing that certain jobs are too dangerous and requiring that minors under 16 only work a certain number of hours.

The Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSH)

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor administrates the OSH Act. This act outlines health requirements for workplaces. Employers must comply to this act or suffer the consequences.

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

The Wage and Hour Division also enforces FMLA. Briefly, FMLA provides for eligible employees to receive up to 12 workweeks of unpaid leave to care for an ill family member, to adopt a child, or to prepare for a newborn child. This law was enacted to help employees care for his or her family without possible employment loss.

Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act (USERRA)

The Veterans’ Employment and Training Service of the U.S. Department of Labor protects the rights of uniformed service members. This law states that uniformed service members may return to their job position after required duty. Moreover, job seekers may not be discriminated against because they are a uniformed service member. Employers who violate this law are subject to specific consequences outlined by the law.

Federal Employees’ Compensation Act (FECA)

The Office of Workers Compensation Programs (OWCP) of the U.S. Department of Labor advocates for the compensation of workers when they receive injury or illness from their job. Other laws upheld by OWCP include the Black Lung Benefits Act (BLBA) and the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act (EEOICPA). Although each program differs, they each help cover medical costs.

DOL Law: More Laws

Every single law upheld by the Department of Labor actively protects the rights of American workers. Since there are so many, it can be helpful to consult a lawyer who will have a deeper understanding of the law.

We’ve included a few more of the laws that the DOL administers here.

  • Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (LHWCA)
  • Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA)
  • Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act (LMRDA)
  • Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA)
  • Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)
  • Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN)

If you have experienced a violation of your rights as an American job holder, contact a DOL lawyer who will know how to navigate the DOL and your rights under the law.
Don’t hesitate, talk to a DOL attorney: (412) 626-5626 or